Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 13th October 2007, 08:11 AM   #1
Bitwise56

Default Fluted Column in SL

Hi all. I am a newbie so please be gentle.

I have been attempting to create a roman style column to import in to second life.
My attempts start with the "base prim" sculpty-cylinder.ac

By importing another cylinder and using a boolean subtract, i am able to make the flutes. Everything looks great in AC3D but it imports as a black ball.

How can i make flutes in the cylinder? Everything I try seems to fail.
Bitwise56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2007, 10:45 AM   #2
lisa
Professional user

Default Re: Fluted Column in SL

The boolean operation is probably altering the UV map. After you make your flutes, open the UV map tool\texture coordinate editor, and apply a cylindrical wrap to your object. That should fix it.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 11:35 AM   #3
Bitwise56

Thanks Lisa, I tried your recommendation and had better results than before. However I still must not be creating a perfect uv map as required by exporter.

According to the documentation. Setting up the uv map can be tricky to do manually.
Bitwise56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2007, 03:46 PM   #4
lisa
Professional user

A little bit, but a column shouldn't be too bad.

Make sure your UV map goes edge-to-edge, and wraps.

For a column, you might getting a better result if your use the LSL LLSetPrimitiveParams to switch the wrapping mode to cylindrical. Then your UV map only needs to wrap left-right instead of both left-right and up-down.
Old 31st October 2007, 02:46 AM   #5
Gus
Advanced member

Hi all, am also on the same boat as Bitwise56.... I just created my first sculpted pillars/columns..........However, once imported to SL the uvmap looks messed up..look at images below. For your convenience I attached the AC3d files...