Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th January 2009, 12:19 PM   #11
Lucky1
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Defining surfaces and other new questions....

Thanks again Lisa, and ya, I had hit that 'd' button. I use 'Alt Z' to delete a lot and must have struck it in my madness....hehe.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lisa View Post
- I draw a polyline using the polyline tool
- I subdivide the polyline to 3 division levels using Object > Subdivide +
.
Now this is what I did, and now with the subdivision back on it works right, but no matter what I do, I can't get it to fill in only to the curved line.
I even tried the Poly and Polyline buttons and it didn't help.

I have to admit, I'm not sure what the purpose is of the rest of the steps...are they required everytime I want to make a 2D curve?

So to recap, to make my little Ice Cream Cone, I do the above and get it nice and rounded. I can even get it to look ideal in all views.
Then I add the bottom part, the V.
I select it all and add a surface to it, but no matter how I do that, it's always a point at the top.

I cannot see another level or part, it looks like a cone in wireframe, but when it fills in it looks just like the screenshot I posted earlier.

Any idea how I can make my little cone?

Thanks!
Wes
Lucky1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 04:42 PM   #12
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Defining surfaces and other new questions....

Anytime!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky1 View Post
I have to admit, I'm not sure what the purpose is of the rest of the steps...are they required everytime I want to make a 2D curve?
Nah. I was just fooling around so you could get some ideas for later. Just the line and subdivide are required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky1 View Post
So to recap, to make my little Ice Cream Cone, I do the above and get it nice and rounded. I can even get it to look ideal in all views.
Then I add the bottom part, the V.
I select it all and add a surface to it, but no matter how I do that, it's always a point at the top.
I'm still not sure what could be causing that, all I can figure is there must be an extra surface in there hiding.

But here's how I'd do it:

- Draw a 3-point polyline to make the curve at the top of the cone.
- Extrude the polyline.
- Select the entire object and switch the surface mode from polyline to polygon and delete the extra front or back-facing surfaces.
- (Optional) If you want the cone to have a super-sharp point, select Object > Commit Subdivision. This will lock the subdivisions in place as they are, making them uneditable, but will allow the rest of the shape to be non-curved. Otherwise, if you don't want to commit subdivisions, you can still make the cone fairly pointy by adding a second set of vertices near the tip.
- In vertex mode, highlight the two vertices at the top edge of the curve and select Vertex > Extrude Edge. Drag the vertices down to make the point of the cone.
- Repeat using the bottom two vertices.
- (Optional) To weld the point of the cone, highlight the two vertices on the left and click Vertex > Snap Together. If you have a lot of vertices, you can also use "Snap Together by Distance" with an appropriate radius to do several at one time. Repeat for the right side. Then click Object > Optimize Vertices.

I also recorded two quick videos to illustrate better.

With committing subdivisions (super-sharp point, but non-editable):
http://www.independentdeveloper.com/...commitsubd.wmv

Without committing subdivisions (editable curves):
http://www.independentdeveloper.com/files/nocommit.wmv

Note: the closer you move the two points together at the tip, the sharper the curve. Also, it was completely sharp before I welded it, all depends on what you want to achieve.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2009, 11:48 PM   #13
Lucky1
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Defining surfaces and other new questions....

Thank you so much Lisa, you're a gem.

Well I'm officially in the club....I bought the program. What you showed me is just
amazing, and I think this program has about the right degree of complexity for me.
Though I still hardly know how to use it....I just hope I can get to the point where I
can do what I want with it, and I think with practice I will be able to.

Now your videos are just amazing (and fun to watch!) but perhaps we could go a
little slower and not use the extruding feature just yet? You see, the wireframe
model I am trying to make...well...I just think it would be easier to solve my problem
if we kept that off for now.

See, I have made a wireframe model and now I just want to curve one or two
lines, and then put a surface on it. Can we do that on each line I want without
making them 3D?

Let me put it another way perhaps.

Below demostrates my confusion, I will tell you how I did it.
-I draw a 4 point polyline to create a square shape, then doubleclick on the last point
-I highlight the entire drawing and select Subdivide+ 3 times
-I then choose "Select-Vertex"
-I then select the entire object and go to the Vertex menu and select
Create Convex Surface....and this is what I get.

So again, my problem is: what do I do when I have a complex drawing and all
I want to do is curve a line and fill in the panel?

Thanks again!
Wes
Attached Images
 
Lucky1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 02:40 PM   #14
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Defining surfaces and other new questions....

Ah, got ya! Ok. Finally just clicked what I think you're trying to build.

You've almost got it. Here's what you need to do:

- Do as you are presently, and make your four-point polygon
- Subdivide three times
- Make sure your curve is as you want it, then click Object > Commit Subdivision
- Under surface type, click Poly

That should give you a tear-drop shape that's filled in... since it was a polyline not a polygon, you don't need to use create convex object because the surface already exists.

[EDIT: little clarification since I know we've been talking about creating surfaces all along... if it's just a polyline, not extruded, it's effectively a 2D shape. AC3D allows any number of sides in a surface, so practically any 2D shape can be treated as a surface. If your shape was 3D, you'd like need to use convex shape or ordered surface to fill in the surfaces. I hope that makes sense, I don't think I'm explaining it very well.]

Last edited by lisa; 15th January 2009 at 02:43 PM.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009, 01:58 PM   #15
Lucky1
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Defining surfaces and other new questions....

Thank you! That helped immensely!
Quote:
Originally Posted by lisa View Post
[EDIT: little clarification since I know we've been talking about creating surfaces all along... if it's just a polyline, not extruded, it's effectively a 2D shape. AC3D allows any number of sides in a surface, so practically any 2D shape can be treated as a surface. If your shape was 3D, you'd like need to use convex shape or ordered surface to fill in the surfaces. I hope that makes sense, I don't think I'm explaining it very well.]
No problem, I understand.

Speaking as someone really new to this (like that isn't obvious) it would really be good if the terms used were clearly defined somewhere. To a newcomer we don't even know what the difference is between a "Polygon" and a "Polyline" you know?
There are a lot of terms new to me. If you have a link to where they're described feel free to post it.
I've printed out the manual but it's not really in there.

I am going to work on my model some more and see what I come against next.
Right now I'm going through my model to "Snap Together" a bunch of Vertecies I want to act together.
So I'll let you know how I come along.

Thanks again!
Wes
Lucky1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2009, 06:34 PM   #16
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Defining surfaces and other new questions....

You're most welcome!

Unfortunately I don't have a link for a really comprehensive 3D terminology glossary, but here's a couple that aren't bad:
http://www.computerarts.co.uk/downlo...world_glossary
http://www.avsim.com/fsbench/glossary.htm

Looking forward to seeing your model when it's ready.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 05:37 PM   #17
Lucky1
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Defining surfaces and other new questions....

Thanks for those links Lisa, I was waiting for another question to come along before posting again.

My next question is this:
I have an involved line in my drawing, and I would like to add Subdivisions on
one segment only. How can I do that? It always subdivides the whole line.

For example, if I were to draw an "L" using three vertecies, how could I sudivide
say only the vertical line?

Thanks!
Wes

Last edited by Lucky1; 25th January 2009 at 07:39 PM.
Lucky1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 05:28 AM   #18
Ham
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: international
Posts: 96
Default Re: Defining surfaces and other new questions....

Select two vertices, ie, the line.

Command or Control + SHIFT +"I"
or under the menus
Vertex > Insert Vertex

This will create a single vertice at the center of those points.

Should do the trick for ya.
Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 10:08 AM   #19
Lucky1
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Defining surfaces and other new questions....

Sorry, but not really.

I inserted the vertex you mentioned, but I want to pull that to the left
for example, and then curve that line. But if I choose Subdivide then,
it will subdivide both the vertical and horizontal lines. I want the horizontal
line to stay straight and be unaffected by subdivisions.

Wes
Lucky1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 05:13 PM   #20
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Defining surfaces and other new questions....

Create it as a separate object (you can still snap the vertices to keep the placement dead-on)
-OR- make your curve and commit subdivisions first, then add the straight segment.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:15 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020