Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th November 2004, 03:43 PM   #1
Boiler98
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default [newbie] Loading textures onto planes.

Hello all.

I just downloaded AC3D and was immediately struck with it! I'm very new to 3D graphics, so I imagin the question is probably very trivial; but my lack in proper terminology and experience it is sometimes difficult.

All I am trying to do right now is create a simple 3D tile map -- made up of planes and textures. I added a "Rect" to my view port and then tried to apply a texture via Object->Texture->Load Texture... But both my (XY) and 3D view show the rect as white still.

What do I need to do in order to add a simple texture to a rect?

I'm also wondering, what is the best way to set up a model w/ (approx) 10 textures applied to multiple planes? Is it just as easy to apply the texture to each plane, or is there a more efficient/proper way of doing it in AC3D?

Many thanks for any help!
Boiler98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2004, 03:53 PM   #2
Boiler98
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Partially fixed. I am getting textures loaded now -- I was trying to load a BMP, which was throwing an error for some reason (it never told me this when trying to apply a texture, only when I decided to try and set it as a background). I changed it to a GIF and I can load it.

So, I broke down and just bought the thing... I'm already hooked! I downloaded the extension pack, but I still can't load PNG files as a texture (it says there is no plugin). I looked, the file is in the plugins directory. Is there something more I need to do in order to load a PNG? I can load JPGs (another plugin), but not sure why it isn't picking up the PNG loader.
Boiler98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2004, 06:16 PM   #3
Razer
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 194
Default

now that you bought it make sure you have the plugins.
__________________
Tony "Razer" Martin
3D/2D Artist
SDOP-Warbirds
Razer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2004, 07:08 PM   #4
Boiler98
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Yes, I do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boiler98
I downloaded the extension pack, but I still can't load PNG files as a texture (it says there is no plugin).
But I mentioned that the PNG plugin does not appear to be working. I can not load PNG textures.
Boiler98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2004, 07:17 PM   #5
foxa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greensboro NC, USA
Posts: 337
Default

Don't forget to make sure that textures are checked in the 3D and Ortho menus (you will never guess how I know that )

Art
foxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2004, 08:07 PM   #6
Boiler98
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Double checked the Ortho menu; "Textures" are checked.
Boiler98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2004, 02:48 AM   #7
Razer
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 194
Default

other thing to check is open the bmp in photoshop and make sure its not index color.
__________________
Tony "Razer" Martin
3D/2D Artist
SDOP-Warbirds
Razer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2004, 05:42 AM   #8
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,382
Default

If png files are not recognised then AC3D has not loaded the plugin.

Check the AC3D console window - the plugins are listed here when AC3D starts. Also check the menu Help->about-plugins.

If no plugins show then you may have put them in the wrong place. You need to unzip them into the 'plugins' sub-filder of the AC3D install folder.

Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2004, 10:10 AM   #9
Boiler98
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks Razer. I found out the problem with my BMPs is they are not 24bit (noticed the message in my shell when I quit the other day), but I'm not worried about BMP anymore. Now that I have the registered version, I want to be working with PNGs.

Andy:
Just chedked out the loaded plugins, here is the list that is in Help->About Plugins:

Quote:
Airfoil .sof import plugin - Version 1.0 - by Inivis
Centre plugin V1.1 - by Takashi Matsuda
CSG plugin v1.0 - by Jeff Duncan <support 'at' virtualplatypus.com>.
DDS File loader v1.0 - by Jeff Duncan (support 'at' virtualplatypus.com)
DXF Export Plugin - V1.11 - by Inivis
Field Import Plugin - Version 1.1 - by Inivis
Jpeg image loader V1.11 by John Stone/Inivis
Line command plugin - Version 1.0 by Inivis
Milkshape Export Plugin - Version 1.1 - by Inivis
Milkshape Import Plugin - Version 1.11 - by Inivis
OBJ Export Plugin - V1.2 by Gary Sanders
OBJ Import Plugin - Version 1.4 - by John N. Huffman
OFF Import Plugin - Version 1.1 - by Inivis
Points Import Plugin - Version 1.1 - by Inivis
PPM image loader V1.0 - by John Stone
Quake Map Export Plugin - Version 0.4 - by Inivis
SMF Export Plugin - V1.0 - by Joerg Schmalzl
SMF Import Plugin - Version 1.02 - by Joerg Schmalzl
T3D Export Plugin - Version 1.0 - by Inivis
Targa image loader V1.11 - by John Stone/Inivis
TIFF image loader V1.0 - by Greg O'Sullivan
Ext. Direct X Export Plugin - Version 1.3 ( Oct 13 2003 ) - by F. Meinert
I did unzip the archive into my AC3D/plugins directory. I look in there and I do see a "pngload.p" file, but it just does not want to load. JPG is there, but not PNG.
Boiler98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2004, 12:17 PM   #10
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,382
Default

Are you running AC3D under Linux? If so, the plugin may want another library.

Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020