Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd August 2011, 01:11 PM   #1
Hobbes
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default Weld vertices does not work?

I'm trying to use the 'Weld vertices' command to combine two polylines. So I select two vertices (one on each polyline), select 'Snap together' to make the two vertices overlap, then select 'Weld vertices'. I expect that this would remove one of the selected vertices, and combine the two polylines into one object, but that's not happening. What am I doing wrong?
Hobbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2011, 01:44 PM   #2
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: Weld vertices does not work?

It's because you have two line objects. Weld Vertices only works on multiples of vertices in the same object. You can snap together vertices from disparate objects, however.

Fortunately, you can still get what you want out of this.... simply select both lines in Object Select mode, and then in the menu, select Object > Merge (Ctrl+Shift+M). That will make the lines one object, and then you can successfully Snap Together and Weld.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2011, 02:01 PM   #3
Hobbes
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default Re: Weld vertices does not work?

Ah, now I get it. Thanks!
Hobbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020