Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th August 2011, 10:30 AM   #1
Toronto
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 109
Default Mask layer

re: Mask layer

I'm working with a car model that I need to put ingame.
In making a carskin texture (or paint layer), the car looks much better with a shade layer (or dirt mask).
Anyone know how to make a mask layer for photoshop using AC3D???

I'm sure there is a pluggin of some sort for this to make a mask layer.

Render-to-texure or Bake a texture, or something along that line I guess, but I can't get either of those pluggins to do anything.

Last edited by Toronto; 19th August 2011 at 05:16 PM.
Toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2011, 05:14 PM   #2
Toronto
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 109
Default Re: Mask layer

example what I'd like to make:
Attached Images
 
Toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2011, 06:31 PM   #3
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: Mask layer

Not sure if I understand you properly...

but it would seem that any layer would be a version of the texture file made from the basic UV map you create before beginning texture work.

You'd make a file from a copy of just that layer in Photoshop/PSP/Gimp/whatever, and set it up for its end use (selecting or deselecting alpha layers as necessary, as one example).

So, you'd have a texture/"paint"/"skin" file (which itself might have any of dozens of layers for best visual results), a bump map file, an occlusion file, perhaps a damage file. But they'd likely all come from one layered .PSP file, and you'd mix and match the layers you want to create the files you need.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2011, 07:01 PM   #4
Toronto
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 109
Default Re: Mask layer

You are right, you are not understanding me.
I'm not after the UV map of the mesh, but rather, a shade layer.
Note the layer in the pic was made using another 3D program, it was exported from the 3D program just like you export a .bmp of the mesh, but is a representation of how light strikes the car.
Note how the hood is bright and the sides of the car are shaded darker than the top.
This layer (a shade layer or mask layer) is generated by the 3D program and is dependant on how many lights you put in the scene and their location.
It is usually called a mask layer and is generated in the 3D program.
-----
There is a "Render to Texture" plugin for AC3D that might do it, although I can't get it to work, possibly because I'm in Win7_64bit.
Toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2011, 09:29 PM   #5
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: Mask layer

Ah, OK, I think I get it better now.

You might try taking your model into Blender and generating that lightmap there.

Blender's a real pill to use, but it's very powerful... and it's free.

Try www.blender.org and find the download button near the top left side of the page.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020