Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th April 2020, 10:23 AM   #1
SpitForty
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 24
Default Identify faulty normals

Hi,

I be grateful for some help with an issue with normals going wrong. I'm making airports which are being exported for use in Aerofly FS2 and in the sim some of the polys have bad normals. Normally when this happens I can see the shadow black inside AC3D but I don't see that. Is there a more diagnostic way of inspecting normals? I'm using 8.3.0

Thanks
SpitForty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2020, 07:50 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,382
Default Re: Identify faulty normals

Press 'n' to display normals. Set surfaces to single-sided and have a look around your model, any surfaces that are not visible from the outside will need flipping.



Use Surface->Unify normals to fix.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2020, 09:01 AM   #3
SpitForty
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 24
Default Re: Identify faulty normals

Thanks Andy. Spotting a couple of dogy normals on something like this feels like a needle in a haystack job or am I missing something?

http://ndgrad.co.uk/test/airport.jpg

However... Unify Normals could be just what i need! I see I can't do select all > Unify. If I was to randomly select any surface in this mesh of polygons would the unify normals command cover the entire footprint of this airport?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Press 'n' to display normals. Set surfaces to single-sided and have a look around your model, any surfaces that are not visible from the outside will need flipping.


Use Surface->Unify normals to fix.
SpitForty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2020, 10:45 AM   #4
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,382
Default Re: Identify faulty normals

Select one surface that you know is correct and it will orient all attached surfaces so they are also correct.



You'll need to do it for each object since it's impossible for it to know what is correct - you need to tell it that first surface.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020