Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13th November 2003, 02:56 PM   #1
foxa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greensboro NC, USA
Posts: 337
Default Mirror function

I'm unsure of what to do after I mirror a group, It seems to become a single object and the only way I can separate them is to use Oblect - Fragment and then group the two sets of pieces together. This seems to drive POV Ray wild, I get a ton of
File: C:\Program Files\AC3D4\RCbox06.pov Line: 25500
Warning: Should have at least 2 objects in csg.
What should I do instead :?:

Thanks

Art
foxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2003, 06:14 PM   #2
-WOODY-
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Homje of the Indy 500
Posts: 176
Default Re: Mirror function

That's part of the mirror function, to create a mirrored duplicate and attach it to the original object.
If you just want to create a mirror of the object but not attach it, just create a duplicate of your object and in the top part of your tool bar, you'll see an X, Y, and Z button. Click on one of them to flip your object on the plane that you want it mirrored, then go to "surface" in your menu then hit "flip normal" to make sure the surfaces are facing outward.
-WOODY- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2003, 06:48 PM   #3
FlyingMonkey
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mirror function

I'm having trouble letting the mirror half do the same as my "real" half.
It seams that it stays the same after you have mirrored it.

Flying Monkey
FlyingMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2003, 07:42 PM   #4
-WOODY-
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Homje of the Indy 500
Posts: 176
Default Re: Mirror function

The mirror function is a "duplicate" type of function, not a mirror of action. I know Max has something like that, but that's not the way AC3D works. In other words, after you mirror you still have manually manipulate each side individually. So if you manipulate one vertice on one side, the other duplicate vertice on the other side doesn't move as well in a mirrored manor ( that is if that's what you meant by your statement ).
-WOODY- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2003, 03:32 AM   #5
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,381
Default Re: Mirror function

It sounds like you want to be using View->realtime-mirror whilst building your model. This will display a mirored copy of your model whilst you work on it.

When the model (well half the model anyway) is finished use Object->mirror to make it into a 'whole'.

Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 09:13 PM   #6
Cowboybebop
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 155
Default Re: Mirror function

AC3D the Little(only in file size) Program that could :wink:
Cowboybebop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020