Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25th November 2005, 10:46 AM   #1
andym
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default coordinate system

Any chance of a configurable coordinate system in the next release, only AC3D does use a strange one that I've not seen before?
Just flipping the Z-axis would make it the same as DirectX's left-handed system which would be my own preference.
It could be kept as-is underneath but the displayed coordinates and the cw/acw order of face creation could be configurable.
andym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2005, 01:44 PM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default

The coordinate system AC3D uses is widely used in many systems (y is up). I believe this is much more common in 3D graphics fields as compared with some CAD programs, but that's only a personal observation.

Changing the coordinate system would not be an easy change to implement but remember that you can configure the views as you like them (Views->Configure-views)

AC3D will automatically convert models from programs that do use an alternate coordinate syste e.g. 3D Studio Max .3ds files.

Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 03:50 PM   #3
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default

How about a plug in that will export a model to those "alternate" systems, yet with the axes reordered so that they seem right side up in those environments????

That would help immensely.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 05:28 PM   #4
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default

For 3DS, this is an option in settings.

For which file format do you want this?

Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020