Go Back   AC3D Forums > Technical > AC3D Bugs and Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th May 2022, 02:31 PM   #1
danhopgood
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 3
Default Crashes in 9.0.22

I've been modifying existing models for X-Plane in 9.0.22 extensively with no problems.

Today I tried to create a new model from scratch using the "flange" video tutorial, but AC3D crashes every time if I do the replicate function after I create the outer disks. When I follow the video, at the point where I create a 2d mesh, AC3D crashes each and every time. If I do the replicate function first, as the video, it doesn't crash. Surely it shouldn't crash AC3d doing it another order?

I've reset AC3D to default settings with no difference. I'm using standard, up to date video card drivers. Card is NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti. Log file attached together with the part finished flange.

Any advice on how I can avoid these crashes would be welcome please.
Attached Files
File Type: zip crash.zip (52.5 KB, 16 views)
danhopgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2022, 02:54 PM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,458
Default Re: Crashes in 9.0.22

I have investigated this and found it to be an error with the floating-point precision in the create-2d-mesh function.


If you double the size of the object (e.g. press "200%" on the toolbar) before using the function, it works fine.


The next release will contain fixes for this.


Thanks for reporting this and I'm sorry about the problem.


P.S. The new 2D boolean functions are handy for making shapes like this.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2022, 03:54 PM   #3
danhopgood
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 3
Default Re: Crashes in 9.0.22

Many thanks. I'm now working at larger scale and reducing the size when done.

I do like the changes with 9.0. With X-Plane, being able to preview the datarefs used on animations is really useful.
danhopgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020