Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th January 2006, 12:17 AM   #1
laynecook
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Default DXF Import Question

After importing a DXF file, I've discovered that each of the "lines" connecting the vertices is actually a surface. The only way I can find to remove them and replace them with "real" surfaces is to:

a) select them (in surface mode)
b) Surface -> Remove Surface Only (this leaves the vertices behind)
c) Create all the new surfaces by hand (selecting vertices and creating an order surface from them).

This gets old real fast on a big model. Is there a better way? (I'm a newbie at this, obviously).

Thanks,

LC
laynecook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2006, 11:31 AM   #2
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default

It sounds like the DXF file you are working with has exported "lines" instead of "faces". You can open the DXF file in a text editor and you'll probably see a lot of "LINE" entities in the file.

I don't know of a good workaround for this other than what you're doing - I'm not terribly familiar with the DXF format, but it looks like assigning surfaces (versus line surfaces) will be a manual process for such models...

If you cannot get another version of the file that uses Faces, or if no one else has better suggestions, these functions may help speed up your workflow:

Vertex -> Create 2D Mesh
Vertex -> Create Convex Surface/Object

These functions may or may not help depending on your geometry, of course...

Good luck,
Dennis
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2006, 07:35 PM   #3
griff
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 116
Default

You might want to take a look at the file converter AccuTrans3d ... it has a lot of parameters that can be modified when you load a dxf file including what would appear converting lines to surfaces. Have not tried it myself ..... but you can get a test version here :

http://www.micromouse.ca/index.html

You are permitted to use it before paying ($20 US)


Regards,

griff
griff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020