Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Suggestions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th June 2006, 05:47 AM   #1
coldby
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 102
Default Distortion

Sorry, already posted but maybe in the wrong forum (plugins):

I'd love the possibility to select a set of adjacent vertices and then distort them all together linearily by dragging a corner of the binding box in any of the views. Would that be feasible? Is it already there but I didn't find it?
Doing it manually is a real pain in the neck...

Thanks!
coldby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2006, 07:41 AM   #2
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default Re: Distortion

I'm not sure what you mean by "distort them all together linearly" here? Is what you want to do covered in this movie?

http://ac3d.org/playmovie.php?name=tutorials/intro.mov

If it is not, can you provide a little more info as to what you want to do?
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 04:28 AM   #3
coldby
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 102
Default Re: Distortion

Sorry for the delay, Dennis - yesterday here was a holiday. Couldn't see the movie either: apparently my QuickTime needs some refreshing. However a trivial example should clarify:
Let's imagine (in 2D for simplicity) a rectangular frame surrounding a lattice of selected vertices. Now drag the top right corner in some direction and see each vertex move along with the pointer - the nearer to the pointer, the closer the vertex follows it. A line would stay a line, a circle would expand into an ellypse, a square would turn into a kite. In Photoshop you find this feature under edit->transform -> distort, and I guess that adapting it to a 3D model should be peanuts (well, nearly...).
When you're fed up with me, just say so
coldby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 08:11 AM   #4
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default Re: Distortion

Ah, I see. The nearest thing to this in 3D editors is called "soft selection" --- AC3D does not have that feature, but that would be a _very_ nice addition to its toolkit.

hth
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:11 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020