Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th March 2021, 11:09 AM   #1
Tonyn
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 16
Question Dock a menu

Hi Andy

Is it possible to dock the (F8) Hierarchy menu to another location such as right hand side or bottom rather than floating?

Thanks
Tony
Tonyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2021, 01:00 PM   #2
Tonyn
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 16
Cool Re: Dock a menu

Oops
Just realised the stupidity of this question, sorry please ignore.

I'll have another beer instead.

Sorry for timewasting.

Tony
Tonyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2021, 01:53 PM   #3
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default Re: Dock a menu

Seems like a reasonable request.



So you would like the hierarchy on the right, as part of the main window UI (like the left control panel)?


Unfortunately, Tcl/Tk doesn't support docking and it would be a big job to implement it manually.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2021, 09:03 AM   #4
Tonyn
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 16
Default Re: Dock a menu

Hi Andy

My original though was to be on the right in a similar manner as Sketchup have their Outliner, however I later thought that this would not be such a good idea as the Hierarchy would be dynamic and would therefore take up an unnecessary amount of UI screen space, hence by later post above.

If however it was possible with minimal impact it could prove useful.

Tony
Tonyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
docking, hierarchy

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020