Go Back   AC3D Forums > Technical > AC3D Developers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th November 2003, 02:51 PM   #1
dugla
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Default Looking for ac3d to PLY exporter

Hello,
I'm a newbie to ac3d but a capable programmer. Has anyone come across an exporter that writes to the PLY polygon file format ( http://astronomy.swin.edu.au/~pbourke/geomformats/ply/ ) ?

This is a nice ascii shared vertex file format that is perfect for my needs.

Alternatively, where can I find the ac3d file format spec?
dugla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2003, 05:07 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default Re: Looking for ac3d to PLY exporter

The ply format looks quite simple and you should be able to get something going quite quickly as a plugin. Look at the sv_* plugins in the SDK for examples.

Some of the example plugins need updating for 4.0 - I'll post a migration message soon.

The AC3D file format doc is

http://www.ac3d.org/ac3d/man/ac3dfileformat.html

Writing import/export plugins is easy with AC3D - but do post any questions you have here.

Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2003, 04:00 PM   #3
Gary E Sanders
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 12
Default Re: Looking for ac3d to PLY exporter

I do conversions of ply to ac3d format in a text editor. The only problem in going the other way is getting the normals out of AC3D and into the ply file. Since ver 4.0 I don't seem to be able to access ac3d normals, even when using the vertex normal from the surface svertex list.

ges
Gary E Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2003, 04:09 PM   #4
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default Re: Looking for ac3d to PLY exporter

Hi Gary,

Have you got the 4.0 headers? If not - send me an email and I'll get them to you.

The structures have changed in 4.0 and as you mention, normals are now stored in the SVertex structures (along with the vertex pointer and the texture tx,ty). So - they are now per vertex reference and not per vertex.

Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020