Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Scripts and Mods
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th February 2018, 04:59 AM   #11
SpitForty
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 24
Default Re: Understanding Scripts

Many thanks. I think I have the hang of this now.
SpitForty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2018, 10:27 PM   #12
coffeecup
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Default Re: Understanding Scripts

Hi Andy,
I'm going to hijack Spitforty's thread a bit, cause we are kind of looking at the same thing over at the Aerofly/IPACS forum. I've been reading a bit about the scripts on this sub forum, and I keep seeing references to telnet and shell sessions:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
doing an "ac3d list" command via a telnet window gives the list of commands and one is:

boolean <subtract, union or intersect> "perform a boolean operation"
Can I run the commands interactively, instead of adding them to the menus and reload AC3D each time I want to do something? Is this part of the SDK?

Also, is there a bit more detailed doco on each tcl function, maybe part of the SDK? I have a list of commands, but I'm a little bit unsure what arguments they take.

Thanks in advance,
coffeecup
coffeecup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2018, 03:34 PM   #13
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,381
Default Re: Understanding Scripts

Sorry, the commands are self-documenting .

The best way to find out what the parameters mean is to look at the tcl code that calls AC3D - mostly in the menu code in tcl/ac3dmenu.tcl.

If you can't work something out - let me know.

It's easy enough to make a script which pops up a window which say a list of button in it. Pressing the buttons can run one or more command. There may be some examples on here...
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2018, 03:39 PM   #14
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,381
Default Re: Understanding Scripts

Here's a an example, which you might also find quite handy for the Aerofly stuff:

https://www.inivis.com/supercoldmilk...quickgrid.html
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2018, 05:35 AM   #15
coffeecup
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Default Re: Understanding Scripts

Hi Andy,
I think I might not have described too well what I was after, but in the end I figured out I could go into Advanced Settings and enable "Allow Socket commands" and telnet into 1655 to execute the ac3d commands. This will allow me to explore the commands and perhaps create some batch operations to speed up my designs. I thought I had looked over the main script threads in the forum, but I could not find anywhere where it was mentioned, but it probably was me looking in the wrong place. Thanks again for getting back to me.

-Coffeecup
coffeecup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020