Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th July 2003, 07:50 AM   #1
rfes
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
Default Export as 3DS

Hi

How is it possible to export an object with the texture to a 3DS-formated file?
I loaded a 3DS-file (with texture), made some manupations and exported it to a 3DS-file, but the texture was not saved in the new file.

thanks for any hint
rfes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2003, 11:51 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,382
Default Re: Export as 3DS

There are some nasty limit imposed by the 3ds file format where texture names must be short and not contain paths.

Some work has been done to prevent this for the next AC3D release but until then, I recommend you use short texture filenames e.g. wood.jpg (I can't remember but the limit may be 8.3), and save your 3ds files in the same folder as the texture.

Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020