Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd November 2004, 09:24 AM   #1
Hawk
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 191
Default Background images

Is it possible to import a jpg or gif photo into AC3D as a background object?

Say into the top, front or left viewport so that could be used for tracing reference, meaning one that could be used for a guide of the rough shape or outline of the object? Thanks :?:
Hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2004, 10:00 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,381
Default

Yep - menu View->background-image
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2004, 03:52 PM   #3
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default

Andy, any chance the upcoming new version will allow you to save the sizing and position of background images when you save a file?

I had read somewhere that this info would be saved if you put the images into a file called, "textures" in your root AC3D file, but when I tried it out, it didn't work.

Returning to a file after closing/saving it, you STILL had to reload, reposition and resize all your background image files.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2004, 05:01 PM   #4
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,381
Default

I'm sorry, it's too late to put saving of background image data into the next release.

After that, there will be some changes to the file format that will allow this sort of thing to be added with ease.

Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2004, 12:06 AM   #5
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default

Well, I guess that's "good news, bad news".

Bad news, I have to wait for this very important feature.

Good news is, if it's "too late", that must mean that the new version is very close.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2004, 08:09 AM   #6
Hawk
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 191
Default Background images

Wonderful, I am constantly amazed at what this program can accomplish for its price.

What I now am able to do is make three digital photos of an object (top, front and end view) and place them on their respective backgrounds in AC3D and use them to develop a 3D image.

A great time saver as I don't need precise CAD like images for some of the drawings I develop, if I do then I plot the images in precise detail in a CAD program, but not when I need a basic image quickly.

By quick tracing the AC3D photo background images and with a little adjustment work the image can be saved and transfered (Using ScreenPrint 32) to Paint Shop Pro for the rest of the work, just great. (It appears to only work with Gifs, not Jpgs?, no matter Gifs are fine)

I, in fact, finished one this morning. Thanks.
Hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020