Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th October 2004, 07:58 AM   #1
AndyH
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 34
Default Understanding materials?

Hi again!

Materials question:

This one is probably a learning issue, but I can create a material using the coloured buttons at the bottom left. I have figured out how to apply these to surfaces, but when importing in models that others have created, how to I get the material properties that are already assigned to a surface or object? Also how do I know what button on the materials section in the bottom left relates to each material on the object? I made a simple shape and I made various shades of one colour assigned to each surface ... I only have three materials but as they all looked similar it was hard to know which button was which!
__________________
ovine by design
Visit us for retro freeware games
AndyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2004, 05:23 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,379
Default

New loaded materials are added onto the end (right) of the palette. You can find the material that a surface has by selecting that surface. The material index will display at the bottom of the AC3D window.

This also works if you control+click on a surface in the 3D window.

Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2004, 12:44 PM   #3
AndyH
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 34
Default

Fantastic, thanks!
__________________
ovine by design
Visit us for retro freeware games
AndyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2020, 03:35 AM   #4
stitlown
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Question Re: Understanding materials?

Has anyone noticed that in 8.5.55 the colour of materials does not appear to display in the viewports. If the view is swapped to wireframe, the wireframe shows the material's colours, but in the texture view, the surfaces do not, where in earlier editions they did. Or have I toggled some switch I don't understand??
stitlown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2020, 06:40 AM   #5
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,379
Default Re: Understanding materials?

can you post pic?
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2020, 09:07 AM   #6
stitlown
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default Re: Understanding materials?

Screenshots attached. The object has material 6.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (393).png
Views:	0
Size:	115.0 KB
ID:	3753  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (394).jpg
Views:	0
Size:	117.5 KB
ID:	3754  

stitlown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2020, 09:23 AM   #7
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,379
Default Re: Understanding materials?

Strange one. Check you have the lights on (main 2D/3D menus).


Perhaps update graphics drivers.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2020, 07:23 PM   #8
stitlown
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default Re: Understanding materials?

Presume you mean "headlights". Both on. I cycled them off then on - no difference.
I keep my drivers up to date, but I checked and is up to date.
Any other thoughts?
stitlown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2020, 10:02 AM   #9
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,379
Default Re: Understanding materials?

Very odd, never seen it before. I assume a sphere looks flat too?


Perhaps try changing the screen resolution/depth, and restarting AC3D?
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2020, 10:25 AM   #10
stitlown
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default Re: Understanding materials?

Happening on all models. Screen resolution made no difference (and hasn't been changed in years so it's AC3D, not the screen). Tomorrow, I'll uninstall AC3D with a good scrub for left over crap and reinstall. See what that delivers.
stitlown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020