Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th April 2006, 12:44 PM   #1
zarrabian
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default question from new user

I am a new user and trying to use this program to do some eng. designs. What I would like to know is if there is any way to subtract two shaes from each other. For example, If I have a cylinder and would like to have a hole through it in the shape of a smaller cylinder, is there any way to make the two cylinders and then cut one object from the other?

I am trying to make a cylinder shape that has several holes of different sizes through it. Is there an easy way to do this?
zarrabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2006, 06:06 PM   #2
PerFnurt
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Eslöv, Sweden
Posts: 93
Default

Yes, there is a fairly easy way to do this.

Look into Boolean operation (Tools / Bolean operation...) and use its subtrcation operator.

1. Create a cylinder
2. Create another cylinder running through it
3. Open Boolean operator tool
4. Select cylinder created in step 1 and set it to operand A
5. Select cylinder created in step 2 and set it to operand B
6. Choose Subtraction
7. Press OK.

A new object is cretaed and selected. It is a copy of the cylinder from step 1 but with a hole running through it.
__________________
/Per

www.perfnurt.se
PerFnurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2006, 01:25 AM   #3
griff
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 116
Default

Per is right ... you can use the boolean operations. However, as I have suggested elsewhere on this forum the results are not great in terms of vertices/surfaces created. See here for examples:

http://www.ac3d.org/forum/viewtopic....ighlight=#4847

The easiest and cleanest way to cut a round hole through a cylinder is not to start with a cylinder at all ;-)

1. Create an ellipse for the outer diameter size, and click the *Poly* button so it shows as filled in the 3d view.
2. Go to File->Settings->"Make hole size". Set the diameter of inside hole as a % of outside diameter ... say 25%.
3. Go Surface->Make Hole
4. In Vertex or Surface mode, hilite the ring you now have and go Surface->Extrude (cap the end and don't remove the original).
5. In object mode, hilite the cylinder (with a hole through it) you now have and set it to one sided (1S)

There is another trick to doing same thing which would allow for holes to be different shapes ... but the above will do what you want.


griff
griff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2006, 12:17 PM   #4
zarrabian
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you giff and Per. I will try both ways and report the results.
zarrabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020