Go Back   AC3D Forums > Meeting places > AC3D and X-Plane
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29th July 2010, 07:45 AM   #1
Michael Wilson
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default cant booleen out wheel wells

boolean doesnt seem to work on these two simple shapes, i dont understand what is wrong. heres the ac3d file of the two shapes:

http://forjets.netfirms.com/try_to_b...wheel_well.zip

heres the first screenshot showing the first shape highlighted, and the second shape im using to cut with.

http://www.x-plane.org/home/michael_...creens0411.jpg

and heres the result, it doesnt seem to cut.

http://www.x-plane.org/home/michael_...creens0412.jpg

Last edited by Michael Wilson; 29th July 2010 at 10:44 AM.
Michael Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2010, 08:09 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,783
Default Re: cant booleen out wheel wells

Flip the normals on the box, they are facing inwards and should not be for the boolean functions to work.

A quick way to check for this is to set all surfaces to 1S (one-sided) - you'll soon see which normals are wrong. Also, press 'n' in the 3d window and check you can see all the pink line coming out of each surface. If you see only a pink dot, you need to flip the normal.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2010, 10:40 AM   #3
Michael Wilson
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default Re: cant booleen out wheel wells

thanks that solved it.

just curious, when did ac3d get boolean ability? i dont remember having it when i first learned ac3d.
Michael Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2010, 11:38 AM   #4
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,783
Default Re: cant booleen out wheel wells

V6.0 I think.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2011, 12:31 AM   #5
BumblebeeMan
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BC
Posts: 16
Default Re: cant booleen out wheel wells

I am looking at a toughie here, I am trying to sculpt out gunports on an aircraft.
The elliptical shape to the fuselage makes the process tricky. I need to make it look ultimately like this: (see attachment)

there HAS to be a simple way (the quick picture I did was done in Bryce, it cannot be used in AC3D or X Plane but makes for some quick 3d 'sketches')
Attached Images
File Type: bmp Gunport.bmp (29.3 KB, 110 views)
BumblebeeMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2011, 04:53 AM   #6
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 162
Default Re: cant booleen out wheel wells

I get the best (and most predictable) results by following a few simple rules.
make sure normals point into the proper direction on both objects (nose-cone & cylinder used for cutting)
make sure both objects are closed (maybe close the nose-cone temporarily at its base)
make sure the mesh resolution is high enough

here's my _very_ rough attempt at it (both objects were 'double sided', then select base object first, shift select cylinder to cut-out, then boolean-subtract):
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	boolean_substract.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	2159  

captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2011, 05:05 AM   #7
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 162
Default Re: cant booleen out wheel wells

Ahem, I must add that there sometimes are minor 'repairs' required after boolean operations.
I always save the model before and try to adjust the respective parts as good as possible first. I still need quite a few attempts for the desired result.
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2011, 10:09 AM   #8
BumblebeeMan
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BC
Posts: 16
Default Re: cant booleen out wheel wells

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainpeter View Post
I get the best (and most predictable) results by following a few simple rules.
make sure normals point into the proper direction on both objects (nose-cone & cylinder used for cutting)
make sure both objects are closed (maybe close the nose-cone temporarily at its base)
make sure the mesh resolution is high enough

here's my _very_ rough attempt at it (both objects were 'double sided', then select base object first, shift select cylinder to cut-out, then boolean-subtract):
i managed to figure it out. still getting the hang of exporting the model to AC3D then back. I think i am getting somewhere now though. Will find out shortly. I'll follow your tips though. They make sense.
BumblebeeMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) Inivis Limited 2014