Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th September 2011, 02:07 AM   #1
ElMuttso
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
ElMuttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Angry Mapping (Frustrated)

New to AC3D v6
Trying to get a hangar built. How in the world do I map different parts of a texture that I made up in PS onto each individual side of a cube? I have 6 blocks of different colors on 1 jpg to use. Loading the texture and making adjustments in TCE covers all 6 sides with whatever color section I have selected. How do I get a different color section onto a different side of the cube.
Thanks in advance...............
Going Crazy...
ElMuttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2011, 03:34 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,783
Default Re: Mapping (Frustrated)

switch to Surface select mode, select the surfaces you want to map, adjust in the TCE.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2011, 10:57 AM   #3
ElMuttso
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
ElMuttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Default Re: Mapping (Frustrated)

Thank you very much! Really appreciate it. For some reason, just never hit on that. It does clear things up a bit. Thanks again.
ElMuttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2011, 05:19 PM   #4
ElMuttso
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
ElMuttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Default Re: Mapping (Frustrated)

If I select SURFACE, OBJECT is grayed out and unavailable. If I select OBJECT instead, then OBJECT; TEXTURE; LOAD TEXTURE, it paints all 6 sides with the same image. If I then select SURFACE and click a side that I want on the model, open TCE, I can then adjust the area of coverage I want. Is this the only way to accomplish this? Seems like there should be an easier path to take.
Thanks again.
ElMuttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2011, 06:20 PM   #5
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 598
Default Re: Mapping (Frustrated)

You have to adjust your thinking to that of how the software approaches it.

If you select the object and then go into the TCE, you've likely got an object that needs to be mapped from multiple viewpoints. If you select a specific surface, or if you select all the surfaces that face a particular viewpoint flush, and then remap them to one of the axes, then you'll be able to adjust them all at once.

Believe me, it is a benefit to having it work this way. Other 3D packages have mapping schemes that are much more complex. This TCE in AC3D gives you a lot of flexibility to get the results you want: you just have to know how to approach your task to access it!
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2013, 09:14 AM   #6
dkm
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mapping (Frustrated)

Is there a video of someone explaining how to do this? I am new to AC3D and I haven't a clue how to use the TCE. I have Googled for hours trying to find something without success. The description in the manual was written by someone who is familiar with the software but can't explain the procedure to a newcomer. We need a step by step guide.
dkm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2013, 10:54 AM   #7
ElMuttso
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
ElMuttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Default Re: Mapping (Frustrated)

You should search YouTube. I found quite a bit there and it finally sunk in.
ElMuttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2013, 10:58 AM   #8
dkm
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mapping (Frustrated)

Yes I have done that but the ones that I have found are either too advanced or they have no commentary. If you have any links that you would recommend then I would really appreciate the help.

Thanks.
dkm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2013, 11:12 AM   #9
ElMuttso
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
ElMuttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Default Re: Mapping (Frustrated)

What exactly are you trying to do? Sent a private message to you also.
ElMuttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2013, 11:35 AM   #10
dkm
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mapping (Frustrated)

I have drawn a simple house in AC3D and I am trying to apply a texture to each face. I can put together a simple .png with bricks and tiles. I then want to map the tiles to the roof and the bricks to the walls. This is probably too simple for those who understand the process but for an absolute beginner the documentation for how to apply textures, step by step, is simply not there. I understand that the .png needs to be square and a mulitple of 2, but what multiple? How do I map the tiles and bricks to the appropriate faces? To just say "Use the TCE" is no sufficient for someone who has never used it.
dkm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) Inivis Limited 2014