Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Work In Progress / Showcase
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th April 2004, 03:47 PM   #1
LiveWire
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eugene OR, USA
Posts: 212
Default My WIP

well i desided to make a human model the other day, and i just decided to post some WIP of it.
its not half finished yet, and ive kinna 'slowed' down working on it.
it was acculy alot easyer to make this than i thought it would be.

screens.



yep big jaw, thats mostly due to the crapy drawing i use to model him.

hes gonna have a lot more cloths/armor/detail and prob a sword or somthing.

Philip
LiveWire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2004, 02:36 AM   #2
gizmo_thunder
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default Re: My WIP

nice work dude...
one doubt.. did you actually make this in
AC3D??? if yes could you help me out
with the steps i should follow to make a
new model myself??
thanks a lot..
gizmo_thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2004, 01:40 AM   #3
LiveWire
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eugene OR, USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: My WIP

thanx...and yes this model was completly done in ac3d
yes i will make some steps up if you want.
ill post them here
LiveWire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2004, 04:20 AM   #4
gizmo_thunder
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default Re: My WIP

That would be great
and thanks in advance
gizmo_thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2004, 05:41 AM   #5
LiveWire
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eugene OR, USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: My WIP

k here we go with the steps....

first your gonna want to make a front and side simple drawing, like so...

NOTE: youll want to make drawing as identical in propotions as posible.

youll want to divide this image up into 2 seperate images, wich youll set as backgrounds in ac3d.
to set an image as a background in ac3d goto View>Background Image>Set>side/front/top/all
select your Side image for the side view, and your Front image for the front view

now you should have a background image for both side and front views
NOTE: you can adjust the background images placment by holding Alt and pressing the Arrow Keys.

once you have your BGs correctly aligned, its time to start modeling!

start with creating a simple box at the toe of you drawings, and adjust its vertexs to 'fit'


change to 'surface select mode' and use the 3ds window to select the 'back' surface of the box...


extrude the surface back along the foot, every time adjusting the vertex's...


select the surfaces where the ankel would be, and extrude...


----------------------
right now your probly thinking "thats a pretty blocky foot", and yes it is pretty blocky...this is where Subdivision come into play. :wink:

to preview your foot subdivided:
change to object selection mode
select your foot
goto Tool>Object Property Editor... (or hit F9)
adjust the 'Subdivision Preview' bar to 1, 2, or 3, and press the Set button


notice how your foot becomes smooth.
to set it back, put it to 0, and press the Set button
-----------------------

making the rest of the leg...
select the top surfaces and extrude...


now select the surfaces where the crotch ataches, and extrude...


-----------------------
k, im sure youve noticed that your only modeling one half of the guy
thats cause youll flip that half the complete him later

but you can 'preview' what he'll look like as a whole by turning realtime mirror on.
to turn it on, goto View>Realtime mirror>X
-----------------------

on to making his torso...
select top surfaces, and extrude
as always adjusting the vertex's every time...


select the surfaces where his shoulder would meat his torso, and, as always, extrude and adjust...


now for adding some detail...
to add detail, we have to "Cut" the surfaces, heres how...

select two vertex's, and goto, Vertex>Insert Vertex


next select indavidual pairs of vertexs and goto Vertex>Slice Surface

NOTE: i edited the pictures, with the red dots, and lines, to show you what i meant.

do the same to add a more defined chest, back, and anything else you think needs more definition.


Well, that just about raps it up for now, ill try and do some face and hads stuff later, but for now its 2:00am and im going to bed.

ooo, you shouldnt flip(mirror) your model right now, but if you want to fool around with it, heres how....

change to object selection mode, select your guy, goto Object>Mirror>X+/X axis

NOTE: you can align vertexs to an axis, by Vertex>align to axis>x/y/z

if you have questions, or if i wasnt being clear, please ask, and i will try and explain.

Philip

[EDIT] by the way, if you havnt already, you should check out this thread:
http://www.ac3d.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=228
LiveWire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2004, 02:13 AM   #6
gizmo_thunder
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default Re: My WIP

Thanks dude
I did check out that thread but it
was in 3ds max so thought it would
be better to see one in ac3d
i hope ill' be able to make a model now
i still have to try, thank you once again
gizmo_thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2004, 02:10 PM   #7
gogi
Member
Expert member
 
gogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: toronto
Posts: 61
Default Re: My WIP

great tut, great modeling of the shoulders,congrat`s.
__________________
Behind every solution there is problem
gogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2004, 10:15 PM   #8
LiveWire
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eugene OR, USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: My WIP

thanx guys.

gizmo, alot of modeling tuts can be used for any modeling program...
you just have to know how to convert certain things.

gogi, is there a limet to how many pics you can hold on photobucket?
cause im thinking of making a 'nice' tutorial with LOTs of Hi-res pictures
LiveWire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2004, 08:50 AM   #9
gogi
Member
Expert member
 
gogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: toronto
Posts: 61
Default Re: My WIP

Hi man ,regarding the limits for posting the stuff on Photobucket there is probably limit which one I didn`t reach yet.Some people did so I found this on Concept forum.org.
be careful with photobucket
to every one using photobucket make sure your images are not to large and that you dont over flow your flolder, i am unfortunatly did just this ignoring the photobucket warnings.Now if you go and check any of my non rescent threads you will find that all my imagages have been taken away and marked ecceeded bandwith which is very embarrasing, so lauph if you must, but heed my warning.
I found that on Photobucket :
A. Due to some individuals that were abusing the system, I have had to add a few restrictions. Currently you are limited to 2500 Megabytes of transfer per month and 100 Megs disk space. I feel this is very generous and should be more than enough for the all types of users. If you link to a lot of pictures, try to keep the sizes smaller or at a higher compression and it will really help you out. If you are so kind to donate, your limitations and restrictions are lifted indefinately.
__________________
Behind every solution there is problem
gogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2004, 12:21 PM   #10
LiveWire
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eugene OR, USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: My WIP

wow, 100 megs....thats not restriction
much better than others ive come across.

thanx for the info
LiveWire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020